The Line…Fall 2011

I spend hours dreaming, thinking about it.  The ideas come to me in my head as I’m lying in bed at night waiting to fall asleep.  I think about what I want to wear. What I ‘need’ and what I ‘must’ have. 
 
I spend an incredible amount of time thinking about where to put a seam. How to best flatter the body. About how the fabric will drape and gather, hug and relax, shape and float.  To emphasize the points that should be highlighted.  Always considering how best to use the fabric. How to reduce the use of the fabric to be cost effective yet at the same time being generous in the places it counts the most.
 
It’s a process. An idea flows into my head ready to transfer to my screen. I draw the first Line on the shape of the pattern. Yes, this looks good. More follow. The ‘block’ or ‘base pattern’ is cut into shapes that become all the pattern pieces of the garment. Sometimes I lay up the pieces in the puzzle known as the marker.  Analyzing the yield to get the most from the precious cloth.  The samples are made and again the Lines are considered, changed, moved. For one style. But soon I have a collection of styles.  The ‘Line’.
 
What’s missing? How will these clothes be worn? I seek an identity for the whole. 
 
I find a theme for this line.  My collections of lines.  A touch of retro. A dash of swagger.  The swirl of a skirt. The flick of an upturned collar. Perhaps what James Bond would wear if he was a she!
 
There is a jacket named Espionage.  A Spy Coat.  The Mystique tunic.  Double Agent dress…..
 
here’s a little sneak peak just for you…..
 
 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Moe
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 10:36:10

    I love that jacket!! The color is awesome too.

    Reply

  2. Diane Kennedy
    Aug 27, 2011 @ 09:22:58

    Thanks Moe! The Espionage jacket is our bestselling jacket for Fall and will be available shortly!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

