Ode to Julie: An Inspiration to All Us Curvy Girls

Julie was a young teenager when I met her. She is the daughter of one of my bosses from the first design job I ever had—over 25 years ago now. It was Julie that first came to me and said “Diane you should design a line of clothing for plus size women.” And so the seed was planted…

 Julie has always been one of my staunchest supporters. It’s been a pleasure to watch her come into her own over the years. Always a plus size, with her weight fluctuating up and down, she has come to love herself and bloom with a confidence that glows from within. She embraces life with zeal, doing crazy things like climbing rock cliffs and playing in a carnival band… just for fun!

One of Julie’s fitness goals was to sculpt her rather flat butt into one with bodacious curves. She loves to proudly show off her newfound ‘assets’, which always makes me laugh! She is also having fun dating—uncompromising in her demands on her potential partners. She loves to dress up, especially in the colour red; here she has on a fabulous custom made cape in a brilliant fire engine hue.

On her trips to Vancouver, Julie always comes to visit and buy clothes from me. We pull apart the showroom and we talk about life and love, fun times and shopping… 🙂 This time she fell in love with my new Tiffany Skirt and Switch Tunic.

What’s next for my beautiful friend? Julie is embarking on a rather interesting career path; after she gets her masters she plans on setting up a practice in sex therapy. I can’t wait to follow the next chapter of Julie’s life on her quest for happiness, fulfillment, and a career that promises to be both fascinating and rewarding. Stay tuned, with a little persuasion I’m hoping to convince her to guest blog. Way to go Julie!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Ode to Julie: An Inspiration to All Us Curvy Girls « msdianekennedy | HappyTipsDaily
  2. Judson Izaguirre
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 08:50:01

    Great for post. My opinion a post is interesting . I like your post this site. I need to know how can I subscribe to your blog?. I will be follow you blog each 7 days.

    Reply

    • Diane Kennedy
      Apr 13, 2011 @ 10:40:54

      Thank you 🙂 You can subscribe to the blog by clicking on the button “Sign Me Up!” under the title “Email Subscription” on the very right hand side of the page. This is below “Categories” and above “Blogroll”

      Reply

  3. Plus Size Dorita
    May 18, 2011 @ 11:54:11

    I thought this was amazing:

    “she has come to love herself and bloom with a confidence that glows from within.”

    What a great way to live!

    Reply

  4. Susan Plus Size
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 08:32:28

    I love the Little Red Riding Hood photo, nice job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

